Topic: Eligibility

Hi - newbie here.  I'm looking for some guidance on the eligibility that you need to meet for IVF or fertility assistance I guess.

Short version of a long story - due to anxiety and fears of falling pregnant again in the past, I elected a couple of years ago to have my tubes done - not tied, but completely removed. I was a single mum of 1 and believed I would never want to go down that road again.

I now find myself with the dilema of having met Mr Wonderful and with us now talking marriage, we would like to know if there's still a possibility of us being able to have a baby together.

I have had someone say to me that couples needed to meet certain eligibilities as well to have IVF?

We are both of good health - I am nearly 34, he is 27. I had never had a problem falling pg before so my eggs should still be good. But I'm wondering if, because I elected to have my tubes removed and with my age, if we are looking at a path which isn't an option.

Any advice would be appreciated as to what we're looking at.

Many thanks

Neamh

Re: Eligibility

Hello Neamh,

Having your tubes removed does not make you ineligible for IVF under WA legislation (the HRT Act). The IVF clinics listed on this site will be able to guide/assist you. If your fertility doctor assesses all else to be well then IVF is an option.

Iolanda

wow - you work alot iolanda, but thank you for your prompt advice.  It's nice to know that it won't be an issue. I've been looking at the Joondalup Clinic at the moment as we are actually in the Midwest of WA so this looks like a promising option and will make contact with them for futher advice.

Will be keeping your site bookmarked, it's proved to be a wonderful source of information. We look forward to seeing your further progress.

Neamh